Gigondas is one of six village districts that for almost eight centuries formed the principality of Orange. In former times it was overseen by the capital of Carpentras, but today Gigondas retains few links with its past administrator. A few documents, fortified city walls (much of which are still visible), the vestiges of the castle and the village’s coat-of-arms emblazoned with the horn of Prince Guillaume of Orange are the remaining traces that bear witness to this past…
But the history of Gigondas began long before the Middle Ages. Countless coins, pottery, columns and roof tiles dating from the ancient Roman period have been discovered throughout the area. Even more ancient is the prehistoric site from the Middle Neolithic period that was recently unearthed in the vineyards of St André. By the 10th century, Orange and Gigondas belonged to the territory of the Count of Provence. At this time, a large castle tower was constructed on the south face of the rocky outcrop where the current village stands. Today only the ruins of the castle remain, as it was destroyed under the orders of Louis XIV (the Sun King).
From the 12th century, Gigondas was ruled by the Prince of Orange and followed the fortunes of this principality until 1731, when it became part of France. Visitors to the village will discover many signs of its long history, from its medieval ramparts to the hospice constructed by a friary in the 17th century to care for the sick.
Indeed, religion has played an important role in the history of Gigondas: no less than six chapels or churches were located in the village district in the 16th century. Today, the parish church still stands, as well as the superb Romanesque chapel of Saint-Côme et Saint-Damien and the chapel of Notre-Dame-des-Pallières. You can also see the vestiges of the ruined Notre Dame de Prébayon monastery, which was built in the 7th century and occupied by monks until 962.